Consumer Reviews of StainMaster carpets

StainMaster flooring logo
Popularity:
#12   of 18 brands of carpets

16% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews with a 1.5 average rating
  • Very Satisfied
    26
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    150

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FlooringReport.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FlooringReport.com.

12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Date created:
Name:
Location: Holland, MI

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied, 2 out of 5

Review:
"Very Disappointing"
We have had our Nylon Stainmaster carpet now for about 6 years. At first, it was lovely and cleaning stains was a breeze. That was huge because we had two dogs who barfed, peed and pooped on our carpet every now and then. All it took was warm water and voila! Clean carpet!! Only a couple of years down the road however, the traffic areas looked like they were ten years old. They were stained beyond cleaning and looked matted and worn. I should mention we have white carpet so the cleaning factor meant a lot. But we didn't think that meant we had to sacrifice quality. We adhered to every word the company advised to maintain the warranty and thought the carpet would hold up. But we are already considering replacing it because it looks so dingy and used. I absolutely vote no on the Nylon Stainmaster Carpet. Don't waste your money.


Date created:
Name:
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Don't Buy Stainmaster Carpet"
Worst carpet ever, changed out three times, upgraded once to prevent the loss of carpet retention, reviewed by Lowes by phone, no in house inspection, ruled normal wear and tear after 28 months on the floor with their premier 25 year warranty, worthless, do yourself a favor do not buy stainmaster carpet from Lowes thinking you have a 25 yr premier warranty because you don't.


Date created:
Name:
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"In My Opinion Don't Buy Stainmaster From Lowes."
Attached letter was sent to the President of Lowe's Mr.Marvin Ellison in Mooresville, NC along with copies to VP of Human Resources, VP Deputy General Counsel and CFO of Lowes by certified mail with no response. Also with my Wife not standing another day of this carpet in our bedroom a piece of the carpet was UPS's to Mr Ellison with no response, take it from this and do yourself a favor, don't buy Stainmaster Carpet with the so called best 25 yr Premier warranty and expect them to honor, my carpet was ruled under their standard answer, normal wear even though the carpet was installed 28 months when I sent my first letter and all cleaning requirements were met documents supplied to Lowes. Mr. Marvin Ellison 1000 Lowe's Blvd Mooresville, NC 27117 Re: Baker Carpet 00229269 Dear Mr. Ellison I will first start with "Would you keep this carpet in your house"? Please see the piece of carpet sent to you from my house that was installed in November of 2019. We noticed the carpt doing the same thing the first three installations of Stainmaster with the Lifetime waranty (see attached) at the end of 2021 but being the holidays we did not start the effort to replace until 3-2-2022 to see about replacing the carpet since the commerical cleaning and brushing would not fix the numerous damaged areas. We first went to Flooring America since they installed all the carpets since 2014 for the same thing, carpet failures. They pretty much laughed at us concerning our request for an inspection to replace the carpet AGAIN. Telling us that we have to contact Stainmaster direct, gave us paperwork verifyhing our installations and replacements of the bad Stainmaster carpet and wished us good luck. I now know why they wished us good luck since they are in the business they know the request would be denied by the apparent only Stainmaster Rep. in our area Mr. Joshua Buchbinder. They were correct!!! Not knowing that Lowes owned Stainmaster I wrote a letter to Ms. Tanesha Patton since she was the person we delt with concerning our replacement in 2019 (see attached). Not getting a reply I found out that Lowes owned Stainmaster in Mooresville, NC. I found a phone number and called Lowes Stainmaster and spoke to a Ms. Christian Elrod. I discussed my problem and she gave me a list of items that I needed to send her (see attached dated March 22, 2022) and told me that we could get a cash refund based on a pro-rated base if found to be the same problem. I never heard a peep from Ms. Elrod from that day, sent her many e-mails, phoned her but nothing was every returned from her. I was turned over to Joshua Buchbinder and basically started over with information he required thinking he wold do an inspection not knowing he was just another stop in the process and only person you could talk to??? I was then told inspection Solutions would do the carpet inspection. I had a vacation scheduled and requested an inspection on June 3rd which was done by Brian. To my surprise the inspection was done by phone, I had to show Brian the interior of the room, the problems holding the phone and brushing the areas with a hair brush, had to show him the vacuum used on the carpet to include turning over the vacuum beater bar to the brush used on the carpet, asked my how many times the carpet was vacuumed I told him we had a cleaning lady for the house once a month and my wife vaccumed as required, he asked me how many people lived in the house answer to adults, asked me if I had an animal told him one small dog, asked me when the carpet was installed I told him Nov 2019, NONE of these questions were in the report read to me by Joshua and per Brian these were requested by the Customer Lowes??? After Brian sent the report to Joshua I received an e-mail telling me to call him to go over he report but before that I had wrote an e-mail after Brian's phone inspection to Joshua and Christian explaining I wanted a cash out, I never received a response so quick from Joshua after I wrote that e-mail telling me theere was no such thing as a cash out. I insisted that I should ge a cash out based on my other e-mail and letters (see attached) but was assured I wa not going to get one because Lowe's does not give cash outs?? (We know that is not true, look at Facebook and Christian's offer) I again insisted on a copy of the report, NO! I wanted to speak to his boss NO! I was assured his decision would be not changed eaven if I talked to someone else! (Note, Joshua should tell people they are being recorded at the beginning of the phone call not in the middle after I asked) I called Brian after Joshua told me our claim was denied and Brian's information did not match Joshua's, explained explained in my e-mail dated 6-10-22 to Joshua, Christian, Lowes Customer Care. Brian would also not give me a copy of his reprot saying Lowes was the requester, I told him I was sthe requester but no report. (If Brian was recording me for his report and he did not tell me, I also wasn't a copy of it!!) If Joshua and Christian are responding to these problems under Lowes At this point I cut out a piece of the carpet (see attached) with the before and after pics to show you the carpet has failed again, my warranty cover the carpet and need your help to settle this claim in which we have spent over $7,000.00 for three carpet replacements not including our effort and loss of the use during the replacement process and one we upgraded spending more money but even with my Wife's objection because she did not want to replace the carpet on the third time but Flooring American convinced her to do it and turns out she was right, look at the mess was are in!!! In this package with the piece of carpet you will find a package of material to see what we have been thru and would really appreciate your help! We do not want another piece of Stainmaster in our house with 8 yrs, three replacements of bad carpet (look at the sample of our carpet) and needs it again, we are asking for a proper cash out in which we think we are Entitled. We would appreciate you reviewing the attache package and I believ you will find the carpet is nothing you wold leave in kyour house. Sincerely, Harvey and Sandra Baker I know this is long but tried to paint a complete picture to see the failure of Stainmaster. As the writing of this no response from any Officer of Lowes. A lady named Amy, obvious she talked with Joshua and gave me the same story, normal wear and denied. She did offer me $500.00 if I signed a document (you know what that means), no copies of anything has been sent to me from Stainmaster, again buyer beware with Lowe's Stainmaster.



Date created:
Name:
Location: CA
Model: Masland

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Worst Warranty Ever"
StainMaster carpet is not pet stain resistant and they do not stand up to their warranty that pet urine will not stain. We followed their warranty procedures and submitted the claim. Evidently Lowes is the only entity that will deal with warranty issues now. They declined my claim on "pet urine stains" reappearing stating that their carpet specialist and the Stanley Steamer specialist said it was "wicking" and not covered under their limited warranty. Neither person came to my home and physically looked at the carpet. My independent carpet specialist with 47 years of experience came to my home, pulled up the carpet and pad, and assessed that stains reappearing after being cleaned (wicking) was not the case. He said StainMaster's warranty is bogus.


Date created:
Name:
Location: Utah

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Padding of Stainmaster"
I bought new carpet 5 years ago and after 2 years had yellow spots coming out all over the carpet even though this carpet had a lifetime warranty they would not honor my request to have the carpet replaced. I have installed new carpet and now realize it was this wonderful expensive upgraded padding I had down from Stainmaster that was the problem from the begining. The blue padding had turned yellow everywhere including under the bed which had never been moved and had ruined my "life-time" warranty carpet so this whole time it was the freaking padding never felt so ripped of


Date created:
Name:
Location: St Petersburg, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Sorry we bought it..."
We are snowbirds in Florida (seniors, no smoking, no animals, no kids, no shoes). We purchased and had stainmaster carpet installed (Lowes) about 6 years ago. We use the condo about 3 months a year so the carpet has about 18 months of use. The traffic pattern has a gray shadow that will not clean. Lowes says they have no record of us buying it there but we know we did but we can't find our receipt. When we go on the Stainmaster Customer Service website it takes us to a Lawyer... aka click bait. Buyer beware!! We are terribly disappointed.


Date created:
Name:
Location: Lebanon,Pa.
Model: Polyester

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Stay away from Stainmaster Polester plush"
First, Stainmaster Polyester is by far the worse carpet I have ever installed in my home. The carpet leaves a track and footprints that make the new carpet appear warn and literally ugly. Even my 5 lb dog leaves clear footprints. I can't think of a single thing positive about this carpet. It's the first carpet I have had that is ugly even when you vacuum it. Second, they don't back their warranty. Although, I must commend the people at my local Lowes Store, they were on my side and were persistent. Stainmaster didn't even cooperate with them. This dragged out for months, but thanks to Lowes, the carpeting was replaced with a nylon, sooo much better. Thank you, Lowes.


Date created:
Name:
Location: TX
Model: Rollover

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Do Not Buy Stainmaster ever"
With a few months of purchase in early 2021, carpet has stain that won't come out. Had it professionally cleaned as required by Stainmaster. Have been trying to get warranty honored since August 2021. Jonathan agrees that it's under warranty, but he now ignores phone calls and emails and, 6 months later, I still don't have new carpet or any reimbursement.



Date created:
Name:
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"They dont stand behind their warranty"
Stainmaster will do whatever they can to get out the warranty they put in place. They clearly do not instruct their resellers to clearly explain the warranty or the requirements either. The carpet is wearing terribly and the stains do not come up. I highly recommend you steer clear of anything that has Stainmaster name on it.


Date created:
Name:
Location: Hudson, Ohio
Model: Boundary 2

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Lowes Stainmaster Carpet Is Terrible"
We purchased carpet in April 2019 and especially paid extra for Pet Safe carpet with StainMaster Unfortunately, our dogs have accidents and we noticed that our brown carpet showed urine stains despite aggressive cleaning and wiping up. I also have a Bissell cleaner and would clean the carpet on a regular basis. None of this mattered and the dog's urine stains would show through. I did not realize that the StainMaster requires you to have the carpet professionally cleaned every 18 months to maintain the warranty. When I purchased my carpet, this was not made clear to me (although Lowes maintains I got a brochure explaining this). I had called Lowes to explain but they again did not explain about the cleaning process. I finally had enough and called to see some replacement only to find that my warranty was voided by my lack of having had a professional cleaning. To me, this is just a scam and a way to prevent Lowes and Stainmaster from avoiding to fix a bad product. The Lowes representative said this was "standard for the industry" but to me this is just another word for ripoff. Do yourself a favor and use a local known carpet house. I wish I had.

12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands